Home / Blog / Gluten intolerance

Gluten intolerance

Back to blog
Gluten intolerance



Gluten is a protein component found in cereals such as wheat, rye, barley, oats, kamut and products made from them.

A gluten-free diet is essential in patients with celiac disease, which is an inflammatory condition of the small intestine due to permanent gluten intolerance.





Contains gluten:

  • Wheat flour (Einkorn) 
  • Kamut
  • Emmer wheat (Zea / Emmer)
  • Meal
  • Dinkel Flour (Dinkel / Spelt)
  • Couscous
  • Graham wholemeal flour 
  • Groats
  • Flour type Farina
  • Malt (ex. beer)
  • Wheat, Barley, Rye, Oats *, flour or flour products thereof: bread, pasta, rusks, breakfast cereals, muesli, cakes, cookies, biscuits

* due to gluten contamination at the stage of harvest, transport, storage and / or processing.



Gluten free:


  • Rice
  • Tapioca
  • Potato
  • Amaranth
  • Corn (maize) 
  • Teff (type of wheat) 
  • Carob
  • Flax seeds
  • Sorghum
  • Soya
  • Buckwheat
  • Quinoa
  • Millet
  • Chestnut
  • Sesame seeds 
  • Chickpea


Union and national legislation, taking into account the nutritional characteristics of people suffering from celiac disease, places special requirements on food intended for this specific segment of the population, so that they can consume it safely. This is achieved by specially treating foods consisting of or containing one or more ingredients of wheat, rye, barley, oats or their cross-varieties to reduce gluten and / or substituting wheat, rye, barley, oats or their cross-varieties with other gluten-free ingredients. These foods must be labeled "gluten free" or "very low in gluten", provided that the gluten content of the final product does not exceed 20 mg/Kg or 100 mg/Kg of product respectively.

For packaged foods, the consumer should carefully read the list of ingredients on food labels, as the food may contain gluten or even traces of it.

In the case of unpackaged food available directly to the final consumer, information on the presence of gluten must be readily available and accessible at the place of sale - the supply of unpackaged food or in the case of distance selling, before the checkout.

Gluten intolerance should not be an alibi for avoiding starchy foods, which are the basis of the Mediterranean Diet and have multiple health benefits.

People suffering from celiac disease are advised to choose gluten-free products as well as to adopt healthy dietary choices.


Focus on the foods that you can consume and not the things that you can not.

Source: www.efet.gr

Gluten free

This product contains gluten under 20ppm concentration. Suitable for people suffering from celiac disease. 

Lactose free

This product is free from lactose. Suitable for people with lactose intolerance. 

Low Salt

This product contains salt in concentration lower than 0,12g per 100g of the product.

No Salt

This product contains salt in concentration lower than 0,005g per 100g of the product. 


Product of certified production according to the good practices of organic agriculture without the use of chemical additives and pesticides.

Sugar free

This product contains sugar in concentration lower than 0,5g per 100g of the product. 


This product is in accordance with a strict vegetarian diet, free from raw materials of animal origin.


This product is in accordance with a vegetarian diet. It does not contain meat and fish.


Product of Protected Designation of Origin. Identification of the product regarding the place, region or country of origin, its quality and characteristics, as well as the guarantee of its production within a limited geographical production.

This website uses cookies

We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.